Tag Archives: olympic

Sailing World Championships: Ben Ainslie wins two first day races

Five-time champion Ainslie claims two race wins as worlds get under way in Australia

Ben Ainslie laid down the an early marker in the Finn class at sailing”s World Championships.

The 34-year-old already has an unprecedented five world titles and started his Finn Gold Cup run strongly on his first days racing.

Despite having already secured his Olympic berth, Ainslie did not rest on his laurels and picked up two race wins in Australia.

“They were a couple of difficult races,” Ainslie said. “There was nice breeze but it was still quite tricky and everyone was anxious to get racing. I”m happy with two wins but there”s a long way to go and some tough competition out there.”

Water performance: Ben Ainslie made a bold start at the ISAF Sailing World Championships

Water performance: Ben Ainslie made a bold start at the ISAF Sailing World Championships

Like Ainslie, Olympic bronze medallist Bryony Shaw enjoyed a good start to the regatta as she secured a second and third in the RS:X women”s windsurfing, putting her second overall.

Luke Patience and Stuart Bithell also lie second in their class, the 470 men”s, after recovering from a poor start to their first race to finish fifth, before winning the day”s second race.

“We really couldn”t have asked for much more on the first day,” Patience said. “Since me and Stuart started sailing together one of our strengths has been comebacks, and often races like that we call “regatta savers”.

“You can mill around in 28th at the back of the fleet having had a bad start, or you can get on your toes and do something about it. The opportunities are always there, they”re always presenting themselves it”s just about seeing them. It was a deep windward mark rounding and a nice wee finish at the end.”

Fleet racing continues in the Finn, 470 men”s, Laser Radial and RS:X women”s events tomorrow, while Lucy Macgregor, Annie Lush and Kate Macgregor also return to action for the next bouts in their women”s match racing round robin group.