You should disqualify yourself! Faldo says Woods will damage legacy if he plays on at Augusta
14:31 GMT, 13 April 2013
16:58 GMT, 13 April 2013
Sir Nick Faldo has hit out at Tiger Woods after the American superstar was given a two-shot penalty for a controversial drop at the Masters, saying he should disqualify himself from the tournament.
Woods hit his third shot against the flag stick on the 15th hole at Augusta, with the ball bouncing into the water. He then took a drop from what appeared to be the wrong place, two yards away from its original lie.
It was thought at one time that the world No 1 could have been disqualified, but he was given a reprieve on Saturday morning by rules officials.
However, three-time Masters winner Faldo told the Golf Channel that he should elect not to play the final two rounds, saying he 'should think about mark this will leave on his legacy'.
Drama: Woods reacts after his ball flies into the water (left) and then takes his drop (right)
Key moment: Woods seen here dropping the ball on the 15th after his third shot found the water
Follow all the third round news from Augusta as it happens with Brian Lee
Faldo added: 'For me, this is dreadful. Absolutely, no intention to drop this as close as possible. Simply, a breach of rules.
'The rules of golf are black and white and Tiger broke them. He’s admitted he broke them. He should stand up and earn himself some brownie points and say to all his fellow professionals: ”I’ve broken the rules, I’m going home and I will see you next week.” He should consider the mark this will leave on his legacy.’
Woods will start the third round on one-under par, five off the lead held by Jason Day.
Golf's rules were changed a year ago, with players now not being disqualified for signing the wrong card.
New rules state that 'if the Committee is satisfied that the competitor could not reasonably have known or discovered the facts resulting in his breach of the Rules, it would be justified under Rule 33-7 in waiving the disqualification penalty prescribed by Rule 6-6d.'
Way back when: Woods receives the green jacket from Sir Nick Faldo in 1997
Hole-by-hole guide to Augusta National
Third round tee times
All the latest news from Augusta
Former US Open champion Graeme
McDowell said on Twitter: '2 shot penalty for TW for wrong drop. New
rule applied for trial by tv. Instead of retrospective DQ, player
receives a penalty. Decent rule.'
leader after two rounds was Australia's Jason Day, on six-under. But
all the talk as the weekend began was once again about Woods.
Watch Tiger Woods' shot fly off the stick and into the water…