Miroslav Stoch wins goal of the year

What a screamer! Stoch beats Neymar and Falcao to goal of the year

FIFA Puskas award for his stunning volley for Fenerbahce against Genclerbirligi.

The Slovak beat Neymar's goal for Santos and Radamel Falcao's strike for Atletico Madrid to win the award on Monday at FIFA's Ballon D'Or, where Lionel Messi was crowned player of the year.

Scroll down for video

Winner: Stoch collects the FIFA Puskas award

Winner: Stoch collects the FIFA Puskas award

But although the Slovakian Stoch, who plays for
Turkish side Fenerbahce, is not as highly-rated as the
other two, his goal certainly deserves the praise.

Stoch kept his cool and his balance to superbly volley into the top corner from the edge of the box against Genclerbirligi in a Turkish Super Lig match.

VIDEO: Watch Stoch's wonder strike

Here is who Stoch beat to the award

Radamel Falcao

Zlatan Ibrahimovic's ridiculous overhead kick against England missed the cut-off date but that sort of athleticism is on display in Falcao's effort against America de Cali.

Again reacting first to a corner, Atletico Madrid's Colombian hitman Falcao flung his body into the air and sent a vicious strike past the bewildered goalkeeper.


Neymar's goal is a different type to the other two, its brilliance coming in the form of a hip twisting, dizzying dribble.

Showing poise, grace and fearlessness the Santos star weaved his way in and out of Internacional players before tucking the ball neatly home.

The skill involved in his solo effort is no surprise – the Brazilian won the 2011 Puskas award for a wonderful goal against Flamengo.

And the rest of the FIFA Puskas award nominees