Didier Drogba rules out January transfer to Shanghai Shenhua

Drogba won't join Anelka in China as Chelsea star rules out January move

Chelsea striker Didier Drogba has confirmed he is unlikely to join Shanghai Shenhua until the end of the season when his contract expires at Stamford Bridge.

The Chinese club are confident of completing the signing of the Ivory Coast international a three-year deal at Shenhua worth 267,000 per week.

Staying put: Drogba has ruled out a move during the transfer window

Staying put: Drogba has ruled out a move during the transfer window

Striking a deal: Shenhua had claimed they were close to completing a deal for Drogba

Striking a deal: Shenhua had claimed they were close to completing a deal for Drogba

But Drogba said: 'I would like to
find again more fun, shivers, fervour, pressure and passion on the
pitch. That makes fun in our job and I have missed a little for the last
months. Does it mean departure from Chelsea Not before next June.'

Nicolas Anelka joined Shenhua earlier this month in a deal worth 200,000 a week.

Drogba is understood to want a new two-year contract at Stamford Bridge, but has only been offered a 12-month extension.